Prospective MSc and PhD Supervisors

 

Name


Department


Research Area


Contact Info


 Dr. Bill Miller Dr. Bill Miller
Chair of the Graduate Programs in Rehabilitation Sciences
Professor
OSOT Epidemiology, determinants and measurement of mobility disability among older adults, including the study balance and ambulation confidence, and assessment of assistive technology used to enable mobility disabled. (604) 737-6314
bill.miller@ubc.ca 
barbic-skye-iii Dr. Skye Barbic
Associate Professor
OSOT Mental health, mental illness (specializing in young adults), recovery, supported employment; and understanding the role of clinical outcome assessment (specializing in Rasch Measurement) to inform relevant service needs of Canadians with mental illness. (604) 8220770

Dr. Lara Boyd Dr. Lara Boyd
Professor
PT Neuroplasticity, Neuroimaging, Stroke, Motor Learning, Brain Stimulation
www.brain.rehab.med.ubc.ca
(604) 822-7197
Lara.Boyd@ubc.ca
 Ddr Dr. Pat Camp
Associate Professor
PT Pulmonary Rehabilitation, Exercise, Chronic Lung Disease, Epidemiology,
Knowledge Translation
(604) 806-9144
pat.camp@hli.ubc.ca
 Dr. Kristin Campbell Dr. Kristin Campbell
Professor
PT Exercise, Cancer, Rehabilitation
cepl.rehab.med.ubc.ca
(604) 827-4704
kristin.campbell@ubc.ca
 Dr. Janice Eng Dr. Janice Eng
Professor
PT Neurorehabilitation, Stroke Recovery, Spinal Cord Injury, Exercise, Clinical Trials
www.neurorehab.med.ubc.ca
(604) 714-4105
Janice.Eng@ubc.ca
 Dr. Sue Forwell Dr. Sue Forwell
Head, OSOT
Professor
OSOT Chronic neurological conditions and their impact on chosen occupations. Current projects include fatigue in multiple sclerosis (MS); pain and fatigue in spinal cord injury (SCI); fatigue in traumatic brain injury (TBI); adults successfully living with MS; and significant life transitions. (604) 822-7410
susan.forwell@ubc.ca
 Dr. Jordan Guenette Dr. Jordan Guenette
Professor
PT Exercise, Cardio-respiratory Physiology, Pulmonary Rehabilitation, COPD, Pulmonary Rehabilitation and Exercise Physiology Laboratory (604) 682-2344 ext: 62129
jordan.guenette@hli.ubc.ca
 Dr. Liisa Holsti Dr. Liisa Holsti
Professor
OSOT Assessing and treating pain and stress in preterm infants in NCIU (604) 875-2000 ext: 5200
liisa.hosti@ubc.ca
 Dr. Michael Hunt Dr. Michael Hunt
Professor
PT Biomechanics, Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation, Osteoarthritis, Movement Analysis
www.mablab.rehab.med.ubc.ca
(604) 827-4721
michael.hunt@ubc.ca
Dr. Suzanne Huot
Assistant Professor
OSOT Migrations, Populations, Cultural Exchanges (604) 822-7395
suzanne.huot@ubc.ca
 Dr. Tal Jarus Dr. Tal Jarus
Professor
OSOT Motor learning with an emphasis on skill acquisition, retention and generalization.

Occupational performance, participation, health and well-being.

(604) 827-3392
Tal.Jarus@ubc.ca
 Dr. Linda Li Dr. Linda Li
Professor
PT Arthritis, Model of Care, Help-seeking, Communication Technology, Knowledge Translation
arthritis.rehab.med.ubc.ca
(604) 871-4577
lli@arthritisresearch.ca
 Dr. Teresa Liu-Ambrose Dr. Teresa Liu-Ambrose
Professor
PT Aging, Physical Activity, Mobility, Cognitive Function, Randomized Controlled Trials
cogmob.rehab.med.ubc.ca
(604) 875-4111 ext: 69059
teresa.ambrose@ubc.ca
 Ben Mortenson Dr. Ben Mortenson
Associate Professor
OSOT Assistive technology, social participation, caregiving and outcome measurement (604) 675-8870
ben.mortenson@ubc.ca
Dr. Laura Nimmon
Associate Professor
OSOT Healthcare team dynamics, patient centered care,  qualitative research methods, ethnography, social network analysis, health communication, health literacy (604) 875-4111 ext. 21256
laura.nimmon@ubc.ca
Dr. Courtney Pollock
Assistant Professor
PT courtney.pollock@ubc.ca 
Dr. Brodie Sakakibara
Assistant Professor
OSOT Chronic disease self-management and prevention, Telehealth, Measurement of chronic disease, Complex behavioural intervention, patient-oriented research Brodie.sakakibara@ubc.ca
 Dr. Alex Scott Dr. Alex Scott
Professor
PT Tendinopathy, Overuse Injuries, Mechanotherapy, Intramuscular Stimulation (604) 827-4959
alex.scott@ubc.ca
Dr. Julia Schmidt
Assistant Professor
OSOT Brain injury rehabilitation, cognitive impairment, self-awareness, self-identity, neurological responses to injury and recovery (604) 714 4105
julia.schmidt@ubc.ca

 

 Dr. Naznin Virji-Babul Dr. Naznin Virji-Babul
Associate Professor
PT Concussion/Mild Traumatic Brain Injury, Perception-Action Coupling, Mirror Neurons, Facial Expression
ipal-pt-med.sites.olt.ubc.ca
(604) 827-4966
Naznin.Virji-Babul@ubc.ca
Dr. Jackie Whittaker
Assistant Professor
PT A lifespan approach to preventing osteoarthritis, Injury prevention, Musculoskeletal rehabilitation, Exercise-therapy
arthritisresearch.ca/jackie-whittaker/
jackie.whittaker@ubc.ca
 Jill Zwicker Dr. Jill Zwicker
Associate Professor
OSOT Using advanced neuroimaging techniques, she examines brain differences in children with developmental coordination disorder and explores early brain development in relation to neurodevelopmental outcomes of premature newborns. (604) 875-2345 ext. 5948
jill.zwicker@ubc.ca