Prospective MSc and PhD Supervisors

 

Name

Department

Research Area

Contact Info

Dr. Catherine Backman Dr. Catherine Backman
Professor
OSOT
  • Measuring occupational performance and the impact of chronic illness or disability on occupational performance.
  • Evaluating the outcomes of OT and rehabilitation interventions and the ethical and administrative tensions that arise in delivering competent care
(604) 822-7409 Catherine.Backman@ubc.ca
barbic-skye-iii Dr. Skye Barbic
Assistant Professor
OSOT Mental health, mental illness (specializing in young adults), recovery, supported employment; and understanding the role of clinical outcome assessment (specializing in Rasch Measurement) to inform relevant service needs of Canadians with mental illness. (604) 8220770

Dr. Lara Boyd Dr. Lara Boyd
Professor
PT Neuroplasticity, Neuroimaging, Stroke, Motor Learning, Brain Stimulation
www.brain.rehab.med.ubc.ca
(604) 822-7197 Lara.Boyd@ubc.ca
 Ddr Dr. Pat Camp
Associate Professor
PT Pulmonary Rehabilitation, Exercise, Chronic Lung Disease, Epidemiology,
Knowledge Translation
(604) 806-9144 pat.camp@hli.ubc.ca
 Dr. Kristin Campbell Dr. Kristin Campbell
Associate Professor
PT Exercise, Cancer, Rehabilitation
cepl.rehab.med.ubc.ca
(604) 827-4704 kristin.campbell@ubc.ca
 Dr. Elizabeth Dean Dr. Elizabeth Dean
Professor Emeritus
PT Lifestyle conditions, Epidemiology, Health Education and Interventions. (604) 822-7398 Elizabeth.Dean@ubc.ca
 Dr. Janice Eng Dr. Janice Eng Professor PT Neurorehabilitation, Stroke Recovery, Spinal Cord Injury, Exercise, Clinical Trials
www.neurorehab.med.ubc.ca
(604) 714-4105 Janice.Eng@ubc.ca
 Dr. Sue Forwell Dr. Sue Forwell Acting Head, OSOT
Associate Professor
OSOT Chronic neurological conditions and their impact on chosen occupations. Current projects include fatigue in multiple sclerosis (MS); pain and fatigue in spinal cord injury (SCI); fatigue in traumatic brain injury (TBI); adults successfully living with MS; and significant life transitions. (604) 822-7410 sue.forwell@ubc.ca
 Dr. Jordan Guenette Dr. Jordan Guenette
Assistant Professor
PT Exercise, Cardio-respiratory Physiology, Pulmonary Rehabilitation, COPD
Pulmonary Rehabilitation and Exercise Physiology Laboratory
(604) 682-2344 ext: 62129 jordan.guenette@hli.ubc.ca
 Dr. Liisa Holsti Dr. Liisa Holsti
Associate Professor
OSOT Assessing and treating pain and stress in preterm infants in NCIU (604) 875-2000 ext: 5200 liisa.hosti@ubc.ca
 Dr. Michael Hunt Dr. Michael Hunt
Associate Professor
PT Biomechanics, Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation, Osteoarthritis, Movement Analysis
www.mablab.rehab.med.ubc.ca
(604) 827-4721
michael.hunt@ubc.ca
 Dr. Tal Jarus Dr. Tal Jarus Professor OSOT
  • Motor learning with an emphasis on skill acquisition, retention and generalization
  • Occupational performance, participation, health and well-being.
(604) 827-3392 Tal.Jarus@ubc.ca
 Dr. Linda Li Dr. Linda Li
Professor
PT Arthritis, Model of Care, Help-seeking, Communication Technology, Knowledge Translation
arthritis.rehab.med.ubc.ca
(604) 871-4577 lli@arthritisresearch.ca
 Dr. Teresa Liu-Ambrose Dr. Teresa Liu-Ambrose Professor PT Aging, Physical Activity, Mobility, Cognitive Function, Randomized Controlled Trials
cogmob.rehab.med.ubc.ca
(604) 875-4111 ext: 69059 teresa.ambrose@ubc.ca
 Dr. Bill Miller Dr. Bill Miller Professor OSOT Epidemiology, determinants and measurement of mobility disability among older adults, including the study balance and ambulation confidence, and assessment of assistive technology used to enable mobility disabled. (604) 737-6314 bcmiller@telus.net
 Ben Mortenson Dr. Ben Mortenson Assistant Professor OSOT Assistive technology, social participation, caregiving and outcome measurement (604) 675-8870 bmortens@mail.ubc.ca
cropped-Laura-Nimmon1 Dr. Laura Nimmon
Assistant Professor
OSOT Healthcare team dynamics, patient centered care,  qualitative research methods, ethnography, social network analysis, health communication, health literacy (604) 875-4111 ext. 21256
laura.nimmon@ubc.ca
 Dr. Alex Scott Dr. Alex Scott
Associate Professor
PT Tendinopathy, Overuse Injuries, Mechanotherapy, Intramuscular Stimulation (604) 827-4959 alex.scott@ubc.ca
 Dr. Melinda Suto Dr. Melinda Suto
Associate Professor
OSOT Mental health, mental illness (specializing in mood disorders and schizophrenia), stigma and recovery; conceptualizing leisure and how participation is shaped by beliefs, environments, and transition. (604) 822-7395 melinda.suto@ubc.ca
 Dr. Naznin Virji-Babul Dr. Naznin Virji-Babul
Assistant Professor
PT Concussion/Mild Traumatic Brain Injury, Perception-Action Coupling, Mirror Neurons, Facial Expression
ipal-pt-med.sites.olt.ubc.ca
(604) 827-4966
Naznin.Virji-Babul@ubc.ca
 Jill Zwicker Dr. Jill Zwicker
Assistant Professor
OSOT Using advanced neuroimaging techniques, she examines brain differences in children with developmental coordination disorder and explores early brain development in relation to neurodevelopmental outcomes of premature newborns. (604) 875-2345 ext. 5948 jill.zwicker@ubc.ca